Grey’s Anatomy Gets Renewed for Record-Breaking 20th Season on ABC

Grey’s Anatomy remains with a heartbeat: ABC has granted a renewal to the highly popular medical drama series for its 20th season, according to TVLine. Furthermore, executive producer Meg Marinis will assume the position of showrunner in the upcoming season, taking the place of the departing Krista Vernoff.

This renewal prolongs the show’s status as the longest-running medical drama series in the history of television; Grey’s premiered on ABC in 2005. The show continues to be a ratings juggernaut, occupying the top spot as ABC’s most-watched entertainment series in the coveted adult demographic of 18-49. The 19th season finale is scheduled to air on Thursday, May 18th.

Courtesy : ABC

Marinis has held the position of executive producer on Grey’s Anatomy since season 15, initially beginning her tenure on the show as a writer’s production assistant during season 3. Through her steadfast persistence and talent, she progressed to staff writer and eventually executive producer, having written a total of 35 episodes along the way. She will be replacing Vernoff, who announced her resignation from Grey’s Anatomy and Station 19 in January.

Vernoff stated, “It has been the greatest honor to have been entrusted with the responsibility of running Grey’s Anatomy for the past six years and Station 19 for the last four. The fervor of the devoted fan bases and the profound impact that these shows have on people’s hearts and minds cannot be overstated. The amount of aptitude found in these two outstanding casts and the remarkable writers’ rooms is incalculable – and these crews continuously perform enchantments week after week.”

Grey’s Anatomy has also undergone some changes in front of the camera. Series lead Ellen Pompeo is no longer a full-time member of the cast, having made her final appearance as a series regular the previous month. However, she is scheduled to make periodic appearances as Meredith Grey, including in May’s season finale and at least one episode prior to that.

The current cast boasts a plethora of fresh faces that were introduced at the beginning of season 19, portraying the new class of first-year surgical residents. Other regulars include Chandra Wilson as Miranda Bailey, James Pickens Jr. as Richard Webber, Kevin McKidd as Owen Hunt, Kim Raver as Teddy Altman, Kelly McCreary as Maggie Pierce, Anthony Hill as Winston Ndugu, Caterina Scorsone as Amelia Shepherd, Camilla Luddington as Jo Wilson, Chris Carmack as Link Lincoln, and Jake Borelli as Levi Schmitt.

Share your love